SoundWalk 2012 project

OK, time to start using this wiki as a wiki. It's project time....

Contents

Long Beach SoundWalk 2012

Time line

  1. Precursors
    1. The poster
    2. A vague notion
  2. Application
    1. Due 2012 July 01!
  3. Notification of acceptance
    1. Received 2012 July 15!
    2. Panic ensues
  4. Changing the tune
    1. Aurora

Countdown

  • Sep 01 Sat (T-0)
    • SoundWalk 2012 17:00—22:00
      • East Village Arts District
      • Long Beach, CA
  • For the last few days' activities, see Long_Beach_Punch_List
  • Aug 31 Fri (T-1d)
  • Aug 30 Thu (T-2d)
  • Aug 29 Wed (T-3d)
  • Aug 28Tue (T-4d)
    • Everything fits in the Subaru
      • Bek and Dave can lift the mix rig into the back without further help
      • There's two inches of clearance from the roof on the left; more like an eighth of an inch on the right where the center seat should belt emerges. So weight can be balanced over the axle. Perfect.
    • Dave leaves for SoCal
      • Aside from a spot of traffic near LA, the drive is uneventful
      • Six hours of driving, accomplished in a little under seven
  • Aug 27 Mon (T-5d)
    • Rehearsal 10
      • Start with Looking_Backward
        • Jacob's trimmed and trued test works well
        • We can repeat the "God voice" effect
      • And wrap; we're too bushed to do more
    • Dave tears down and packs
  • Aug 26 Sun (T-6d)
  • Aug 25 Sat (T-7d)
    • Work and research day
    • Bek works on clearing her desk
    • Jacob writes
      • ...and writes...and writes...and writes....
    • Dave resuscitates the Commodore Amigas in the garage
  • Aug 24 Fri (T-8d)
  • Aug 23 Thu (T-9d)
  • Aug 22 Wed (T-10d)
    • Tentative rehearsal plans?
    • Clue:
      • In the Living Room with the New Crate
  • Aug 21 Tue (T-11d)
    • Jacob's muse does not disappoint--although she does leave Jacob with work to do.
    • Gear update
      • The NT1-A's arrive
      • Dave spends the evening and wee hours configuring the crate. Lots of labeling, cabling, and tying to do when there's a patch panel involved but once in place it should be worth it.
  • Aug 20 Mon (T-12d)
    • Jacob travels back to CA
      • Hoping for that inspirational writer's muse to appear in flight attendant garb
    • Gear update
      • Top-load crate arrives by truck mid-afternoon
      • The mixer and everything planned seem to fit
      • The video camera upgrade finally arrives to go with the accessories
  • Aug 19 Sun (T-13d)
    • Planning session with Jacob in Birmingham 09:15 PDT/11:15 CDT
      • Fleshing out the "motivation" behind the Looking_Backward material
      • Election-year Angst contrasts with Utopian dreams
  • Aug 18 Sat (T-14d)
    • Remote rehearsal with Jacob in Birmingham
      • Studio in San Jose, cell phone in Alabama
      • Ellen reacts to spam content
      • Should we excise/disguise uncomfortable spam topics (e.g., graphic disease descriptions)?
      • Is it wise...to Bowdlerize?
      • Audio session captured
  • Aug 17 Fri (T-15d)
    • The top-load case should arrive in time
      • 2012-08-17 01:12: "Your order number 2634564 has shipped."
      • Late afternoon confirmation: contact with the trucking company!
    • Meanwhile camera accessories are here, but no camera yet
      • Estimated delivery August 21—24
    • Dave begins an AS-1 schematic template
      • The patch is good, but it can be improved. Still, it would be a shame to lose it forever, so....
  • Aug 16 Thu (T-16d)
  • Aug 15 Wed (T-17d)
    • The NT1 mics have shipped
      • S/N 1984851984 sounds like the real thing
      • Estimated delivery August 21
  • Aug 14 Tue (T-18d)
    • Planning session with Jacob in Birmingham
  • Aug 13 Mon (T-19d)
    • Rehearsal 05
    • Will the top-load crate come?
    • Will the NT1-A mics turn out to be in stock?
    • Meanwhile, Dave documents the new AS-1 patch for posterity
  • Aug 12 Sun (T-20d)
    • Rehearsal 04
      • Oracle_du_Jour with new AS-1 modulation patch
      • Jacob and Dave attempt to get "angry"
      • A new camera angle is neither flattering nor effective
      • Audio session captured
    • Dave orders another camera since Mini-DV tape is getting scarce
      • Will we get a decent video this year?
      • At least this increases the chance and will help mine the Bradbury building for media images
  • Aug 11 Sat (T-21d)
    • Meet'n'Greet session 17:00
      • ArtExchange
      • 354 East 3rd Street
      • Long Beach, CA 90802
    • Tentative space assignment
      • 346 East 3rd Street
      • Right next door to where we performed our first year
  • Aug 10 Fri (T-22d)
    • Rehearsal 03
  • Aug 09 Thu (T-23d)
  • Aug 08 Wed (T-24 d)
  • Aug 04 Sat (T-28d)
    • Rehearsal 02
      • Oracle_du_Jour
      • Discovery of the "Images of" meme
      • Audio session captured
  • Jul 31 Tue (T-32d)

Application

Outside influence

The program